News

Current:

Every Now Then: Reframing Nationhood
Curated by Andrew Hunter
Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto, ON)
June 28, 2017 – December 10, 2017

Upcoming:

Urban Green: artscarp (Performance)
Sam Lawrence Park (Hamilton, ON)
Saturday, September 30, 2017 from 3-6pm

The Journey West
Art Gallery of Hamilton (Hamilton, ON)
October 2017

Recent Past:

Hundred Dollar Gallery Festival of Performance Art
228 James Street North (Hamilton, ON)
Sunday, August 13, 2017 at 3pm

Photophobia Moving Image Festival (Screening)
Art Gallery of Hamilton Annex (Hamilton, ON)
Friday, August 11, 2017 from 7-11pm

How far afield?  (Performance)
Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto (Mississauga, ON)
Thursday, July 20, 2017 from 12-4pm

Intra Action (Performance)
Xpace Cultural Centre (Toronto, ON)
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 from 6-8pm

Cotton Factory Talks  (Artist Talk)
The Cotton Factory, Storehouse Building (Hamilton, ON)
Wednesday, March 8, 2017 at 7pm

Video Fever  (Screening)
Trinity Square Video (Toronto, ON)
Saturday, March 18, 2017 at 6pm

HUSH
The Baltimore House (Hamilton, ON)
Sunday, March 19, 2017

The closer we are, the less we have to yell
Abedar Kamgari and Brittany Sostar
Cedar Ridge Creative Centre,
225 Confederation Drive, Toronto, ON M1G 1B2
January 15-27, 2017

“The closer we are, the less we have to yell” investigates gender and the expectation of femininity through practices of self-portraiture, while also considering how family history, memory, and nostalgia affect perceived notions of authentic social interaction.

Performance Schedule for My mother doesn’t drink tea anymore:
Sunday, January 15: 1-2 pm, 3-4pm
Saturday, January 21: 1- 2:30pm
Sunday, January 22: 1-2:30pm
Tuesday, January 24: 12-5pm

I would like to acknowledge the funding support from the Ontario Arts Council, an agency of the government of Ontario for this exhibition.

There and Here
Nedda Baba, Diana Hosseini, Nikkie To
Curated by Abedar Kamgari
Hamilton Artists Inc.,
155 James Street N., Hamilton, ON
March 26-May 15, 2016

Photophobia: Contemporary Moving Image Festival
Screening date: June 4, 9:30 pm
Rain date: June 18, 9:30 pm
Hamilton Artists Inc. ArcelorMittal Dofasco Courtyard